Skip to content

Roger Ewing (Gunsmoke’s Thad Greenwood) – A Short Bio

February 10, 2014

Roger-Ewing14

In 2011 I wrote a post called “Gunsmoke’s Last Survivors”. Those three actors are still surviving. The response to that post has been overwhelming, mostly from fans of Roger Ewing who played deputy marshal Thad Greenwood for two seasons from 10/02/1965 to 09/25/1967. So, when Michael Richardson from Kansas commented on my post called “Louie Pheeters – Gunsmoke’s Town Drunk” saying that he knows Roger and is in contact with him, I wrote Michael to find out more. What follows comes from Michael, from Roger through Michael, and from the book “Gunsmoke – A Complete History” by Barabas.  Michael Richardson comments on a fanboard at http://gunsmokegang.proboards.com/ and Roger sees everything that is posted there.

6’4″ Roger Ewing was born Jan. 12, 1942 in L.A. He went to grade school with Kathy Garver (Cissy from “Family Affair”). Since Gunsmoke and Family Affair were filmed on the same lot, Michael asked Kathy if she’d ever tried to get a part on Gunsmoke. She said that she would bring her small dog onto the set and, one day the dog got loose, found his way onto the Gunsmoke set and peed on James Arness’ boot. Kathy said that might be why she was never asked to be on Gunsmoke.

Roger’s first TV appearance was in 1964 as Marvin Grogan on ABC’s sitcom “Bewitched” in an episode entitled “The Girl Reporter”. Oddly, his first Gunsmoke appearance was not as Thad, but as Ben Lukens in an episode entitled “Song For Dying” (02/13/1965). After the departure of Burt Reynolds (Quint Asper), the producers were looking for an actor to fill that “younger actor” slot. They liked what Roger did in that first episode and asked him to appear as a regular. After Roger’s 51 episodes over two seasons (11 and 12), Gunsmoke was briefly cancelled in 1967. When it returned, Thad no longer appeared. Sometime later, the younger actor slot was filled by Buck Taylor as Newly O’Brien.

Upon his cancellation from Gunsmoke, Roger pursued his love of photography. He wanted to put show business behind him but he did appear in two films: as Donald Maxwell in the western “Smith!” (1969), and as Nelson in “Play It As It Lays” (1972). Also in 1969, Ewing was a celebrity contestant on an episode of “The Dating Game” in which the eligible bachelorette was future actress Lindsay Wagner.

Michael explains: “After Roger left acting, he took up photography full time. Later he moved to Morro Bay, CA. He ran for a city council seat there, but lost the election. He has never been married, but almost got married once. He doesn’t have any kids, but he has brothers and sisters scattered around the country that he visits regularly. He travels by train and bus. He’s not afraid of flying but the planes don’t have sufficient leg room, so he gets a sleeper car on the train. He follows California and Indiana sports teams. He had ridden horses prior to being on Gunsmoke, but he does not currently own or ride horses. He was on an episode of Rawhide (“The Calf Women” – 04/30/1965) when Clint Eastwood taught him how to fast-draw while sitting on a horse. It’s quite different than standing.”

Roger is a very private person, hasn’t made public appearances in many years, but plans to attend the 60-year reunion tentatively scheduled for September 2015 – possibly at the Autry Museum in Newhall, or a hotel in the L.A. area. It might be the last chance for fans to see both Roger Ewing and Buck Taylor together.

Roger-Michael14

Michael Richardson and Roger Ewing in Buellton, Ca. on Sept 28, 2012

49 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2014 12:01 AM

    I’m a new Gunsmoke fan and I love Roger as Thad Greenwood. He was such a handsome young man and a good actor. It would be great to see him at a Gunsmoke anniversary celebration!

    • Anonymous permalink
      December 31, 2020 7:29 AM

      I would love to see him on tv or even meet him someday. He was so attractive on Gunsmoke. I think he lives in Morro Bay and I don’t live that far from there. It least is one of the closest beach from where I live with my husband.

  2. September 5, 2014 7:16 PM

    …1966’s Gunsmoke,”Honor Before Justice” saves a indian girl’s father before his is to die. Thad saves the day. Well acted…

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 6, 2014 11:40 AM

    I wonder if Roger knows why he was not asked back after the temporary cancellation of the show?

    • Michael Richardson permalink
      December 10, 2015 10:35 PM

      Mantley called Roger in and told him that the character of Thad wasn’t working out. They never developed the character. They would not make that mistake again. In the episode The Pillagers, when Newly was introduced, he had spent time learning to be a lawyer, he had education in medicine, and he was a gunsmith as well. Once settled in Dodge he could work as a gunsmith, or help Doc, or even practice law. He did all of those things. Thad came to town looking for the men who caused his fathers death. He had been a deputy, but nothing else.

      • Angelo Esquibel permalink
        May 21, 2021 4:44 PM

        I saw an episode of Gunmoke that mentioned Thad had been killed by gunmen on his Uncle’s ranch, after he left Dodge to help out on the ranch.

  4. September 22, 2014 4:21 PM

    Roger Ewing is a very good actor. Loved watching him on Gunsmoke. I was in high school with a young man that looked exactly like Roger Ewing. He even wanted to date me. I wish i had. This was in Anaheim, Califronia

  5. Anonymous permalink
    February 19, 2015 9:12 PM

    Roger Ewing starred as one of my favorite charactors on Gunsmoke. Thad could generally handle himself quite well around all of the others. He had a lot of qualities that I admired. I wished that he could have been on Gunsmoke for more than 2 years. In my opinion, he added a lot to the show. He and Buck Taylor both. Sean Bensman Madison, WI.

  6. rebeccas permalink
    March 11, 2015 8:50 PM

    I have often wondered about the status of Roger Ewing. He seems like a wonderful person, on Gunsmoke & in his life. Thank you for a great update….

  7. October 18, 2015 1:43 AM

    Sitting here watching Gunsmoke as we speak. It’s the one called “The Avengers” it is about Festus shooting a man who tries to hurt kitty. The family comes after Festus. It’s really good. Thad plays in it. Gunsmoke is timeless. It is golden tv. Came out in the prime of tv shows. I really don’t think their will be another show like it ever. I hope that The 60 year reunion happens.

  8. Ron scott permalink
    November 14, 2015 10:20 AM

    My wife and I love Gunsmoke. We watch it everyday. She just loves Chester. Ron & Bev Scott.

  9. Mary Jo Kent permalink
    April 1, 2016 4:17 PM

    Gunsmoke is and always has been my favorite western. I love all the characters, they make that world so real. Excellent actors and actresses!

  10. Anonymous permalink
    April 15, 2016 2:08 PM

    I just saw Roger Ewing on gunsmoke it was a great episode.

  11. Lajuana woods permalink
    April 28, 2016 5:25 PM

    I still love watching gunsmoke.

  12. Son & Beverly Kitts permalink
    June 23, 2016 5:20 PM

    Still love Gunsmoke ! Watch it ever day and record it ! Love every actors ! Go Roger !!!!don

  13. July 3, 2016 12:31 PM

    I watch Gunsmoke every day and on Saturday! When all else fails, I go to Youtube and watch any episode I want. I can’t get enough of the Gunsmoke gang!!

  14. Andrea reed permalink
    December 2, 2016 2:08 PM

    I wasn’t born when Gunsmoke was produced but as an adult i love watching the show..especially Thad (roger ewing) and i saw the episode of Bewitch that he appeared on..andrea reed Ftw..tx

  15. Karen permalink
    March 7, 2017 1:15 PM

    My dad went to college with Roger in Iowa. Roger even stayed at my grandma’s house in Cedar Rapids. My dad last saw Roger in 1967 when he stopped to visit him in California. I would be delighted to reconnect the two guys if at all possible. My dad’s name is Jim. I don’t want to leave too much personal info on open board, but would gladly speak via email with Roger or a contact of his if possible. Thank you in advance. Karen

  16. Jaye permalink
    May 16, 2017 1:45 PM

    My husband and I love Gunsmoke, Bonanza, Rawhide, and all of the old westerns. Gunsmoke is a classic. Miss Kitty was the best.

  17. Susan Darnell permalink
    May 16, 2017 2:13 PM

    Thad was my favorite on Gunsmoke. Wish he could have been on there longer.
    Love that gorgeous smile

  18. Julie permalink
    May 17, 2017 3:36 PM

    Wow, he looks so different than his gun smoke says. 🦋☮️🤠

  19. July 20, 2017 3:39 PM

    I love your artistry, Roger Ewing! You are the very best at what you do. You are missed more than can be said. Keep up your creativity sir. Thinking of you always. Much Love.

  20. Farrell. Driskwll permalink
    November 22, 2017 2:54 PM

    My. Greatest tv show. Over. 20 YRS. REALLY MISS. IT. GOD. BLESS THEM ALL! WHAT MEMOURYS OF THE. PASS WESTERNS YOU CAN. NOT BRING. BACK AND. AND. ALL THE REG. ACTORS GOOD SHOWS AMEN!

  21. Valinda Giles permalink
    November 30, 2017 3:20 PM

    I loved Thad on Gunsmoke! Please tell him so!!!!!!!!! Roger was absolutely wonderful and I wish they had kept him and developed the character of Thad!!!!!!! He was marvelous!!!!!!!!! I wish him ALL THE BEST!!!!!!❤️❤️💌💌💌❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️!!!!!!!!

  22. Valinda Giles permalink
    November 30, 2017 3:20 PM

    I loved Thad on Gunsmoke! Please tell him so!!!!!!!!! Roger was absolutely wonderful and I wish they had kept him and developed the character of Thad!!!!!!! He was marvelous!!!!!!!!! I wish him ALL THE BEST!!!!!!❤️❤️💌💌💌❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️!!!!!!!!

  23. Anonymous permalink
    December 4, 2017 1:27 PM

    Gunsmoke was and is till this day the BEST Western show ever. Loved all the characters on the show and it will forever be #1.

  24. Jane permalink
    January 12, 2018 12:12 AM

    I enjoyed seeing Thad on Gunsmoke he was such a handsome guy, very faithful ,good and honest. A very good actor but wished he had family of his own. I will check out his other movies ,I still watch the old gunsmoke movies.

  25. Joseph DuRoss permalink
    January 30, 2018 1:15 AM

    I knew Roger Ewing and his whole family when I was a kid growing up. He was in my sister’s class at Transfiguration grammar school. I was a friend of his younger brother Tim. Roger was always a nice guy and everyone liked him. Joe DuRoss

  26. Anonymous permalink
    January 30, 2018 4:25 PM

    Enjoyed Roger Ewing on Gunsmoke. I watch the reruns from 11:00 pm to !:00 am on INSP. Gives me the downtime needed to get ready for the next day. Today’s TV isn’t worth the time. Thanks Roger. Cecil

  27. Alma M. Sandoval permalink
    May 15, 2018 2:36 PM

    I have DISH Tv and I watch Gunsmoke on three different channels. Can’t get enough.. Besides having a major crush on Matt. My favorite Character is Newly O’Brien. I also make sure to watch all the Matt Dillion Movies too….

  28. May 16, 2018 9:01 AM

    Never forgotten.

  29. Daddy Girk permalink
    June 13, 2018 7:45 PM

    I grew up watching Gunsmoke with my dad ,and I still watch it today. Can’t get enough of it and Miss Kitty, she is my Shero.

  30. Mike Fiscus permalink
    July 5, 2018 1:48 PM

    Being a long time, diehard gunsmoke fan, this was very interesting and a pleasure to read!
    Thanks

  31. Anonymous permalink
    September 22, 2018 8:03 PM

    my mother[88] loves gunsmoke, she can’t get enough of it, its staring to grow on me, watching 5 shows a day with her is driving me crazy. Have you ever noticed Matt Dillon is always the last to shot his gun in the opening gun fight each series. According to my count he should have been killed at the begaining of each show. Details, they always trip you up ha. Craig

  32. Gunnanza fan permalink
    October 1, 2018 10:47 PM

    I love me sone Festus Hagan.

  33. Judy Morningstar permalink
    March 16, 2019 8:26 PM

    … i love photography too ☺

  34. Dan permalink
    May 31, 2019 2:47 PM

    A great Actor.

  35. Anonymous permalink
    August 29, 2019 6:40 PM

    I absolutely love Roger Ewing as Thad.
    Kathy

  36. Carol Smith permalink
    February 19, 2020 1:33 PM

    Gunsmoke is still my favorite! And I agree that there are no other good shows on TV like it now-a-days. If you look at the oldest episodes, when the show first starts, you will see Matt draws first. In later episodes, they made It look like he was slower but still sharper than the other shooter. Either way, he was great! All of them were great. I just hate that the show never revealed what we all knew; that Matt and Kitty’s relationship was more than platonic. I would have loved to have seen just a little romance between them. Even one kiss!
    Well that’s my take, what about yours? LOL Carol S.

  37. Susan Jackson permalink
    April 2, 2020 12:04 AM

    Just finished watching gunsmoke. Really love them all!!!! Roger was great as Thad!! Very handsome also!!😁 What wonderful televisionp programs back then. I’m so grateful I can still watch!!!!!

  38. Tom Ambrosia permalink
    May 5, 2020 1:20 PM

    I am an old fart and grew up watching Gunsmoke, Bonanza, Wagon Train, Riverboat, Yancy Derringer, etc. These shows had great stories, and always had a moral message.
    The shows on TV in the last say 20 yrs, as useless as the one ball on the guy from kenya.
    Thad was great in his role and I think he was the only one close enough to James Arness’ height.
    His cool,calm control of a situation was refreshing vs Festus brushness (tho I always LOL with him.
    I think the worst deputy was Dennis Weaver never could warm up to him.
    Gunsmoke is shown on DISH Ch 106, every day from Noon to 4Pm.
    I think the total episodes are available on DVD from OLDIES>COM, no i do not work for them, but when I want old movies, series I head over to Oldies com and 9 out of 10 times they have it and the prices are fairly reasonable

  39. dennis fitzsimmons permalink
    May 25, 2020 6:41 PM

    Dennis Weaver wasn’t a deputy-only a gofer

  40. Elisa permalink
    February 20, 2021 3:10 PM

    Thank you for your article. I hope at this time Roger is still alive and taking pictures. I always wanted to take pictures. Life keeps me busy even at 70.

  41. Elisa Pehler permalink
    February 20, 2021 3:12 PM

    Thank you for your article. I hope at this time Roger is still alive and taking pictures. I always wanted to take pictures. Life keeps me busy even at 70.

  42. Birddog permalink
    April 15, 2021 3:01 PM

    Great to read all the stories of all the Gunsmoke fans. I’m also happy to know there’s a lot a people just like Me “You ‘Ol Scudder YOU!!

  43. Anonymous permalink
    April 22, 2024 3:08 PM

    When I was a boy, Grandma and I never missed an episode of Gunsmoke.

    The best years of my life….and still watching. Reruns are better than most of what is on TV these days.

    I ended up carrying a gun for a living for 25 years…Just like Mat….Well, maybe not as fast.

Trackbacks

  1. What is Roger Ewing doing now? Net Worth, Height. Dead?

Leave a comment