Skip to content

Obama and America Won Last Night

November 7, 2012

Barack Obama has won a second term with a large majority (303 to 206) of electoral votes.  The popular vote was somewhat tighter. His re-election is only part of the good news,  though. Anti-abortion wackos, Mourdock in Indiana and Akin in Missouri were defeated.  George “Macaca” Allen was defeated. Rabid teabaggers, Allen West and Joe Walsh, lost re-election to the house after one term. Elizabeth Warren defeated one-term senator Scott Brown, returning Ted Kennedy’s seat to Democratic hands.

A huge piece of good news is that Colorado and Washington voted to legalize, regulate and tax marijuana consumption for adults. This could be the beginning of a wave that results in the intelligent overhaul of the failed federal drug policies. Anyone who claims they want the federal government out of their lives should be thrilled by these two results and press for nationwide legalization.

The bad news from last night is that there are still too many right-wing, extremist obstructionists in Congress. Michelle Bachmann, for example, won re-election . Other obstructionists like “Mr. Gridlock” – Mitch McConnell – weren’t up for re-election and remain in power. Because he spent the last four years trying to make Obama a one-term president, I say to him: “neener neener neener”.

The senate remains in the hands of Democrats but without a super-majority, and the house remains in republican control. So, after nearly $3-billion spent on all the races, the balance of power in Washington hasn’t really changed. This is a huge victory for our political system over the obscene spending that resulted from the Citizens United decision that made corporations “people” and unlimited, anonymous contributions “free speech”. Our country is faced with some serious problems to overcome that can’t be solved unless the republicans disavow their Grover Norquist No-tax Pledge and come to realize that “compromise” is NOT a dirty word.

I stayed up until 2:00 AM to watch Mitt Romney’s delayed concession speech and Barack Obama’s victory speech and I’m tired but invigorated today. I’m sure I’m not alone. My faith in humans was somewhat restored last night. The election returns provided a long night of nail-biting that culminated in glorious vindication of the intelligence of the majority of American voters. They saw through the lies and dirty tactics of the republican party in general and Romney in particular. They decided that they wanted better than that from their president. Despite what Obama said in his speech, we are sadly still a nation of red and blue states – deeply divided on many levels. My hope is that the next four years will go a long way toward the realization of Obama’s dream of a truly “United” States of America. We’ll see.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 5:35 PM

    I tried to stay up but must have fallen asleep at some point. I was very excited to see who won even though (and you will call me crazy) I couldn’t decide 100% who I thought should. I do know that there is one Thanksgiving celebration that I should not be going too as Obama’s win will probably be pronounced my fault!

    • November 8, 2012 1:15 PM

      It can’t be your fault since you live in the same red state where a vote for Obama would never change the inevitable outcome. So, go celebrate Thanksgiving and, if asked who you voted for, just say: “I voted for THE MAN!” Then change the subject.

  2. November 7, 2012 7:00 PM

    In 2008 I voted for Obama, and this time I voted against Mitt Romney. I may not have been happy with Obama but HELL NO to Mitt. Too many faces..I don’t care what someones beliefs are, but I don’t trust someone who does not know what they are.It also restored my faith that people may be coming off their meds and paying attention

    • November 8, 2012 2:04 PM

      I’m not 100% happy with Obama either. I don’t think anyone is. There was a right-wing TV ad running in my area that started with: “Do you support President Obama’s agenda 89% of the time?” I always answer, “Yep! That sounds about right.” Compare that to the 0% support for anything Mitt Romney proposed.

Leave a Reply

