Skip to content

SA’s Second Anniversary

July 11, 2012



It’s almost hard to believe that I’ve been writing this blog for two years now. Thanks to all of you who visited and commented. I was scrolling through my blog the other day thinking about how much work I’ve put into it. I’ve spent untold hours preparing the graphics and researching/writing the text for the 181 posts… and for what? It hasn’t made me any money, and the number of people who’ve visited here pales in comparison to other blogs. I suppose that what I get for all my effort is a release – an outlet for my pent up creativity and scientific curiosity, and for my contempt of republican ideology, human stupidity and religious fundamentalism.

I always enjoy the comments I get – both positive and negative. One of my objectives is to incite controversy. Some people like what I say while others hate me for saying it. Either way, the comments show that I caused people to think and that my verbiage elicited an emotional response.

In the first year I got 4,200 hits to the Stranded Alien. At that point I did a mathematical projection that estimated 12,600 all-time hits after the second year (doubling the first year). I’m pleased that I exceded that goal slightly with 12,770 (8,570 hits for the second year).

I’m always amazed at some of the posts that get the most hits. Here’s the top ten list of all-time biggest hitters showing the number of hits. You can click on them to read the posts:

Tats, Tramp Stamps and Self-Mutilation       798

Concierge School Bus Service        584

In Romney’s World There Are Many Mansions     491

No Right Turn!     439

Giant Snake Doesn’t Belong In Columbia S.C.     431

Melody Ranch – Gunsmoke’s Dodge City         430

SA’s Prick of the Week – Anthony’s Weiner     307

James Arness: May 26, 1923 – June 3, 2011     265

Will the World End on 12-21-2012?         257

Bill Clinton Comments On Prostitute Scandal     224

I’m disappointed that there was so little activity on my pages like Ask Megabrain, Donkey Horn, or SA For Prez.

I’m getting old and tired. The tribulations of the last few years have taken their toll. I’ve noticed that my posts have become somewhat more mellow in tone. I refrained from posting too much on the insane, idiotic republican primary season, but I’m sure that I will get more fired up during the next few months as the presidential election nears. After that, who knows? Maybe I should retire. Maybe I should change course completely. what do you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2012 5:45 PM

    Happy birthday! You have an interesting perspective, so it would be a shame if you retire. By the way, is that 2 years in Earth years, or in Uranus years?

    • July 11, 2012 7:39 PM

      Thanks, X. I’ve been writing this blog for two EARTH years. A Uranian year is 84.02 Earth years. So If I was counting in Uranian years, that would be 168.04 Earth years. I’m not that old yet, though I feel like it sometimes.

  2. July 15, 2012 11:56 PM

    Wow two years, I had no idea that it has been that long. Time really is flying. Don’t give up just yet.

Leave a Reply

