Skip to content

Chief Justice Made Bad Decision

June 29, 2012

You just can’t count on a conservative to do the right thing, no matter what. Yesterday’s Supreme Court decision on the constitutionality of the Affordable Care Act didn’t go the way anybody thought it would. I expected the conservative majority on the court to do one of two things: 1) strike down the mandate that everyone buy health insurance as unconstitutional; 2) strike down the entire Affordable Care Act because it was Obama’s signature piece of legislation. Instead, with the opinion of one man – Chief Justice John Roberts, the court upheld the mandate as a gift to the greedy insurance companies. The only change was that the penalty for not buying insurance was redefined as a tax. The unconstitutional penalty is now a “tax penalty” which supposedly makes it okay. A pile of crap by any other name still stinks.

The mandate assumes that all Americans are made of money. As a single person with a gross income of about $9,000 a year and a mortgage payment of $9,600 per year, how am I supposed to buy health insurance whose average annual premium (according to ehealthinsurance.com) would cost me $3,742? If I had such a policy, there would be deductibles and co-pays that would cost me even more. Even if it was free, I’d still be in the hole. I own too much property (bought and paid for during the good times) to qualify for Medicaid and food stamps, so I will have to continue to go without health insurance and pay the onerous penalty of about $162 per year. I need to sell my real estate but the Great Recession has put a big dent in that plan.

Until the government sets up the health care exchanges, I won’t know how Obamacare will actually affect me, but I feel that the mandate and penalty are wrong. I counted on the conservatives to torpedo them but, as usual, they let me down. True to form, however, conservatives always screw the poor people.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 30, 2012 8:11 PM

    They are just idiots! I can do math better than that!

Leave a Reply

