Skip to content

Snail Mail Getting More SLUGgish

December 27, 2011

I may be one of the last dinosaurs that still pays his bills with a check sent through the U.S. Mail. If you do too, you may want to read on.

I’m not sure who to be angrier at – USPS or AT&T. This month I decided to pay my bills a little earlier than usual since the holidays were coming up. I paid everything on the 20th except my AT&T bill because it hadn’t come yet. I held the other bills back, thinking the AT&T bill would surely come any day. After two days of waiting, I mailed the others on the 22nd. On the 23rd, the phone bill finally arrived. It said that the billing date was December 7th, which meant it took 16 days to get to me. Now, either the postal service has gotten that slow, or AT&T is mailing the bills later in order to force customers into paying late fees. It could be a little of both.

The bill also said that payment was due on the 29th. That left me 5 days (2 of which were holidays) to get my payment to them. I paid it on the 24th and put it in the box, not sure if the mail ran on Christmas Eve. Fortunately it did. Whether it gets there by the due date is up to the gods.

So, here is my point: USPS said recently that, due to budget cuts, 1st-class mail would soon take up to 5 days to process and deliver… up from the 1-2 days it used to take. Companies need to make allowances for this extra turnaround time by either pushing back their due dates, or by sending their bills out earlier. It’s not fair to make the customer pay late fees because of delays that are beyond his or her control. I don’t trust bill-paying online and don’t like companies trying to force me into it. Fellow dinosaurs unite! Take a stand against this corporate tyranny.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 11:36 AM

    Sounds as if some phone calls need to be made!

  2. November 27, 2014 6:11 PM

    very good

Leave a Reply

