Skip to content

Meet My New Dog… PICKLES

November 24, 2011

For five weeks after the death of my dog Pepper, I anguished over the prospect of getting another dog. Well, the deed is done. I adopted a four-month-old puppy from the animal shelter. In the two day’s I’ve had her, Pickles has captured my heart and taken over my home. I have no idea what kind of a mix she is. I think she’ll be a small-to-medium size dog and I hope she won’t have long hair.

I set up a nice bedroom for her in the laundry room with a baby gate to keep her in. The first night I put her in there and went to bed. The next morning I went to let her out but she wasn’t there. I found her lounging in my recliner in the den as if she had taken ownership of my chair. Last night, I put her in her room and went to bed. Ten minutes later she was running around in my bedroom. Rather than fight about it at 2:30 AM, I just let her on my bed where she stayed snuggled up to me all night. I’m such a pushover.

Accidents are to be expected and we’ve had our share… five pees and one massive poop on the carpet so far. She’s learning though. She likes being near me most of the time and she’s under my computer desk right now.

Pickles and her sister LuLu were confined together in a single cage at the shelter for almost a month. They were surrendered by someone whose dog had a litter and they couldn’t find anyone to take these two. I was originally considering LuLu but, after watching them interact for quite a while, I decided that Pickles was more intelligent and less aggressive. I hated to separate them and I hope someone adopts LuLu before she runs out of time.

In October, the shelter took in 288 dogs and 380 cats (668 animals total). 480 of those were euthanized. That means that 72% of the animals didn’t make it. As heartbreaking as that is, I understand the problem of pet overpopulation caused by careless humans. I wish there were a better way, but I have to commend the workers at the shelter for the thankless job they do under such horrible circumstances. I wish I could adopt them all. At least Pickles escaped the grim reaper and found a loving home. As Bob Barker would say: “Have your pet spayed or neutered!” Today is Thanksgiving and I’m thankful for the many years of joy and love that Pepper gave me, and for my new baby and companion, PICKLES. Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 24, 2011 11:21 AM

    Happy Thanksgiving Stranded and Pickles

  2. November 24, 2011 11:14 PM

    So very precious. Look at those beautiful eyes. The thought of her so happily snuggled up with you at night is so sweet. Her heart is probably about to explode with happiness.

Leave a Reply

