Skip to content

The Stranded Alien’s First Birthday

July 11, 2011

Get out the party hats and horns. My bouncing baby blog is one-year-old today. Woo-hoo! I wrote two posts on that first day a year ago: “One Solution to the Immigrant Problem” and “Republicans Should Encourage Abortion“. WordPress provides a vast amount of statistics for my blog, so I thought I’d share some of the noteworthy stats from the first year with you:

I wrote 108 posts. That’s an average of about two posts per week. There would have been more, but between January and April I was too busy trying to fix my 1989 Chevy S-10 pickup truck. The problem turned out to be the fuel pump. There were 147 comments on my blog but that includes my replies to some of your comments. I enjoy reading your comments and I wish more people would make their feelings known.

4,200 total hits were recorded to The Strandedalien in the first year. The all-time most-read post was (envelope please) “SA’s Prick of the Week – Anthony’s Weiner” with 164 hits. The things about this that I find interesting are: 1] it was just recently posted on June 11, 2011 and 2] it shows the kind of topics people are most interested in and what they are googling. To round out the top 5 posts:
#2 was “Will the World End on 12-21-2012?” with 152 hits,
#3 was “Tats, Tramp Stamps and Self-Mutilation” with 110 hits,
#4 and #5 were a tie at 79 hits: “SA’s Prick of the Week – Charlie Sheen” and “The 2011 Budget Pie“.

The most hits in a single day (125) came on January 9,2011 – the day after Gabby Giffords was shot in the head. I figured that this jump in hits was due to an earlier post called “Don’t Retreat… Re-aim!” which showed Sarah Palin’s map targeting Democratic representatives in Congress with gun sights. The odd thing is that this post came in at #11 with only 38 all-time hits. Perhaps some of my other posts about Sarah Palin accounted for the 125 hits because she made some highly controversial remarks following the massacre in Tucson.

My “Prick of the Week” series seemed to be well received. I don’t pick a prick every week, but that’s not for lack of pricks. It’s more a lack of time and energy on my part. Look for more picks in the following year. My pages (that are tabbed at the top of every screen) are there to incite comments. The stats show a goodly amount of hits to the pages but few visitors made comments. Come on, people! Hit-wise the most visited pages were “About” (49 hits), “Book of Life” (44 hits), “Ask Mega-Brain” (43 hits), “Donkey Horn” (39 hits), “Greeniacs Invent” (25 hits), and “SA for Prez” (21 hits).

A lot of time and effort has gone into producing this blog. I wish I could figure out how to lure more readers. I probably spend more time on the graphics than I do on the writing. Some people just visit in order to steal my graphics (yes, I can tell when you do that). I have mixed feelings about this. I’m protective about a very few pics that I spent an inordinate amount of time on, like Mega-Brain. But, for the most part, I want people to steal my political pics as long as they use them to further the cause of lambasting the evil, idiot republicans. I consider it a form of flattery. The most-stolen graphics were the “Don’t turn right” sign (which I made myself), and the naked old woman covered with tattoos (which I stole from the web).

So, in closing, happy birthday to me! You can help me make the second year even better. Subscribe to the blog and the comments. Visit often. Spread the word by sending the link to your friends of all political stripes. Share your ideas and feelings about the blog with me in the comments. Tell me which features you like and which ones you don’t like. I appreciate you and I need your support in my campaign for president in the 2012 election.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 2:08 PM

    Happy Birthday Stranded Alien!

  2. Chuck permalink
    July 11, 2011 5:35 PM

    Happy birthday & thanks for all the postings!

  3. July 12, 2011 5:23 PM

    Opps I am a day behind. Congratulations! For the life of me I don’t know why more people don’t read. You do a great job with this blog.

    • July 12, 2011 7:55 PM

      How nice of you to say so!!!! You should be taken out and flogged for not visiting every day. If you did, you would have known yesterday that it was my first birthday. Just kidding. Better late than never.

Leave a Reply

