Skip to content

Happy Parents Day!

May 15, 2011

On my home planet of Uranus we celebrate Parents’ Day because it’s more efficient to kill two birds with one stone. Since we are between Mother’s Day and Father’s Day here on Earth, my mind wanders to my dear old folks at home. I’ve been stranded here for so long with no way to communicate with them that I have to wonder how they’re doing and if they are even still living – they’d both be in their 150’s after all. The  photo at the right is the only one I have of them and they were in their 120’s when it was taken.

My mom was an artist with a great sense of humor. My dad was a keeper of records – a pragmatic, hard-working man. He never really understood my mother’s artistic flair and her free-spirited approach to life, but he loved her and supported her. I couldn’t have asked for better parents. They were strict, but always wanted the best for me. I wanted to be an artist like my mother, but I lacked her boundless talent. My father insisted that I pursue a more lucrative career. In order to please him I joined the space corps and ended up stranded here on Earth. I don’t begrudge that decision because I had some great adventures along the way. I only wish I could get a message to them. I would wish them a happy Parents’ Day and let them know I’m still alive and trying my best to get back home to see them again. If I could tell them what life on Earth has been like, they wouldn’t believe me. Who could make up such ridiculous nonsense?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chuck permalink
    May 17, 2011 11:36 AM

    ♥ What a lovely post!

Leave a Reply

