Skip to content

Never Use Computer Associates Software!

December 14, 2010

I have been using Computer Associates anti-virus software since 2006 and I must say that I’ve had nothing but complete frustration with it. If you’re using it, you probably know what I mean and you should get rid of it. If you’re thinking of using it… DON’T! I can’t tell you how many hours I’ve wasted anytime I’ve had a problem… and I’ve had many.

This software gloms onto your computer and it takes an hour-long call to technical support in India to get it out of your system. Their uninstall utility doesn’t work so the Indians have to take control of your computer to do the uninstall.  Their help menus are no help at all and just send you on a wild goose chase trying to get an answer to the simplest of questions. Their user interface is designed to frustrate the piss out of you while giving you erroneous information that does you no good at all. Every time I deal with them I find myself repeating, “I hate you, I hate you, I hate you!!!”

I finally purged it from my system today and installed Norton. So far, so good. We’ll see how it goes. After cancelling my CA service, I called CA customer support to try to get a refund for the remaining six months I paid for but won’t be using, but they refused to give me a refund. My point is this: I wouldn’t recommend CA virus software to my worst enemy. If you’ve used this software, I’d love to hear your comments about it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 10:57 PM

    Sounds almost like that credit card commercial with all of the ringing telephones. I can just imagine you standing there saying, I hate you, I hate you, I hate you! I think I have said that many time with computer issues this week.

  2. November 11, 2011 4:19 AM

    Thanks, I really like reading your blog! Great work.

    • November 11, 2011 9:56 AM

      I really appreciate your comment, Phil. Based on the hit count, I know that people are landing on my blog . However, I constantly wonder if anyone is really reading it and if so, are they enjoying it. It’s nice to know that someone is. Come back anytime.

Leave a Reply

